Useful information

Kyrgyz Republic is the State in the northeast of Central Asia. Located within the Pamir-Alai in the southwest and Tien Shan in the northeast. Borders with Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and China

National Day - August 31, 1991

Languages - Kyrgyz - state, Russian - official.

Acting President- Mr. Sadyr Japarov

Speaker of the Jogorku Kenesh (Parliament)- Mr. Kanatbek Isaev

Prime Minister – Mr. Sadyr Japarov

Currency - Kyrgyz Som (KGS, code 417)

Internet domain - .kg

Telephone code- + 996

Territory: 199.9 thousand squeare km (5.8% - forests, 4.4% - water, 53.3% - agricultural land, 36.5% - other land). Almost 90% oft he territory is located above 1500 m above sea level.

The population is more than 6 million people.

The capital is Bishkek (1 million people).

Major cities: Osh (255.8 thousand), Jalal-Abad (98.4 thousand), Karakol (68.0 thousand).

Kzrgzystan is divided into 7 administrative regions - Batken, Jalal-Abad, Issyk-Kul, Naryn, Osh, Talas and Chui. Regional centers are Batken, Jalal-Abad, Karakol, Naryn, Talas and Osh.

In total, more than 100 nationalities live in the country.

The highest peak - Victory Peak - 7439 m

The longest rivers, in km

Naryn - 535;

Chatkal - 205;

Chu - 221

The largest lakes, square km

Issyk Kul - 6236

Son Kul - 275

Chatyr Kul - 175

In the Kyrgyz Republic there are 1923 lakes with a total water surface area of 6836 square km.

Climate is sharply continental with cold winters and hot summers, strictly depending on the height above sea level. Precipitation is mainly concentrated in autumn, winter and spring, summer is usually dry.

Religions - mostly Muslims. There are also Christians: Orthodox, Catholics and Protestants (Lutherans, Baptists, Adventists).

State governance:

The structure of the governance of the Kyrgyz Republic is determined by the Constitution, which was adopted on June 27, 2010. The new Constitution defines the state form of government of Kyrgyzstan is a parliamentary republic. Parliament and the Prime Minister have much more power and authority than the President.

The Parliament of the Republic - Jogorku Kenesh has the priority in deciding and determining the most important decisions and policies of the state, is unicameral, and consists of 120 deputies elected for a term of five years by party lists.

The President is elected by popular vote for a term of 6 years, without the right to be re-elected for a second term. The same person cannot be elected as President twice.

The head of government is the Prime Minister, appointed by the Parliament and proposed by a parliamentary faction of the majority (the Members of the Parliament from a political party that received more than 50 % of the mandates).