About Kyrgyzstan

A state in the northeast of Central Asia. It is located within the Pamir-Alai in the southwest and the Tien Shan in the northeast. It borders with Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and China.

Date of independence - August 31, 1991 (from the USSR)

Languages - Kyrgyz is the state language, Russian is the official language.

President of the Kyrgyz Republic - ZHAPAROV Sadyr Nurgozhoevich

Toraga of the Jogorku Kenesh (Parliament) of the Kyrgyz Republic — MAMYTOV Talant Turdumatovich

Chairman of the Cabinet of Ministers of the Kyrgyz Republic — Head of the Administration of the President of the Kyrgyz Republic — ZHAPAROV Akylbek Usenbekovich

Chairman of the Supreme Court of the Kyrgyz Republic — BAKIROVA Nurgul Zhakypovna

Currency — Kyrgyz som (KGS, code 417)

Internet domain -.kg

Telephone code - +996

Time zones - UTC +6

Territory 199.9 thousand km2 (5.8% - forests, 4.4% - waters, 53.3% - agricultural land, 36.5% - other lands). Almost 90% is located above 1500 m above sea level.

The capital is Bishkek (859.8 thousand people).

Large cities Osh (255.8 thousand), Jalal-Abad (98.4 thousand), Karakol (68.0 thousand).

Kyrgyzstan consists of 9 administrative-territorial units - Chui region, Talas region, Issyk-Kul region, Naryn region, Jalal-Abad region, Osh region, Batken region, Osh city and Bishkek city. Regional centers are Talas, Karakol, Naryn, Jalal-Abad, Osh, Batken.

In total, representatives of more than 100 nationalities live on the territory of the republic.