May 1–2 declared as Days of National Mourning in Kyrgyzstan


The President of the Kyrgyz Republic Sadyr Japarov signed a decree according to which May 1–2, 2021, are declared Days of National Mourning in the Kyrgyz Republic.

As a result of the armed conflict on April 29-30, 2021, on the Kyrgyz-Tajik border in Batken region, there are numerous casualties and injuries, both among civilians and military personnel. The armed conflict also led to significant property damage to civilians and legal entities.

So, expressing deep sorrow for the victims and condolences to their relatives and friends, it is decided:

- to declare May 1 and 2, 2021 as Days of National Mourning in the Kyrgyz Republic;

- during the Days of National Mourning throughout the country, as well as on the buildings of diplomatic and consular offices abroad, to lower the State flags of the Kyrgyz Republic;

- to propose to cultural institutions and TV and radio companies to cancel entertainment events and programs during the days of national mourning;

- The Government of the Kyrgyz Republic, together with local self-government bodies, to take the necessary measures to provide assistance to the families of the dead and injured.