Country Information

Uzbekistan is a country located in the central part of Central Asia, where neighboring countries are Afghanistan, Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan. The capital is Tashkent. The national currency is sum. The official language is Uzbek. The second most important is the Russian language. Religion is Islam. The date of independence was August 31, 1991. Independence Day is celebrated on September 1.

Uzbekistan is a legal democratic state. The head of state is the president. The highest state representative body is the Oliy Majlis of the Republic of Uzbekistan, which exercises legislative power. The Oliy Majlis of the Republic of Uzbekistan consists of two chambers - the Legislative Chamber (lower house) and the Senate (upper chamber). The Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Uzbekistan is the executive body of the Republic of Uzbekistan, which provides guidance for the effective functioning of the economy, social and spiritual spheres, the implementation of laws, other decisions of the Oliy Majlis, Decrees and orders of the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan.

Uzbekistan is a neutral state and adheres to foreign policy on not joining any military-political blocs.

In Uzbekistan there is a multiparty system and political movements. The largest parties are the People's Democratic Party of Uzbekistan (PDPU), the Social Democratic Party Adolat, the Party Vatan Tarakkiyoti (in 2000, Fidokorlar joined the party Fidokorlar in one party), the Democratic Party Milliy Tiklanish ", Liberal Democratic Party of Uzbekistan (UzLiDeP), Public Association" Ecological Movement of Uzbekistan ".

Administrative-territorial divisions - the region (Viloyaty) and the Republic of Karakalpakstan. Areas of the Republic of Uzbekistan: Andijan, Bukhara, Jizzakh, Kashkadarya, Navoi, Namangan, Samarkand, Surkhandarya, Syrdarya, Tashkent, Fergana, Khorezm and Karakalpakstan.

Population: 32,511.9 thousand people as of October 1, 2017. Of which 50.6% live in the city and 49.4% live in the village.

Uzbekistan is a multinational country: Uzbeks - 18 million 959 thousand people. (78% of the population), Russians - 1 million 199 thousand people, Tajiks - 1 million 166 thousand people, Kazakhs - 990 thousand people, Karakalpaks - 554 thousand people, Tatars - 324 thousand people, Kirghiz - 422 thousand people, Koreans - 164 thousand people, Turkmen - 152 thousand people, Ukrainians - 105 thousand people, Armenians - 42 thousand people, Azerbaijanis - 36 thousand people, Uyghurs - 20 thousand people, Belarusians - 20 thousand people.

The system of people's self-government is "Mahalla". The main function of the mahalla is to monitor the social protection and social security of the poorest sections of the population in a particular microdistrict, help with organizing holidays, weddings, funerals and, if necessary, help poor or single old people.