Country Information

Ukraine is a unitary state in Eastern Europe, with a parliamentary-presidential form of government. The capital is Kiev, the state language is Ukrainian.

President of Ukraine is Vladimir Zelensky since June 21, 2019. The president is elected for a period of five years by secret ballot in general direct equal elections, the same person can not hold the presidency for more than two consecutive terms.

Prime Minister of Ukraine - Oleksey Goncharuk (since August 29, 2019).

The Chairman of The Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine is Dmitryi Razumkov. The Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine consists of 450 deputies. Deputies of Ukraine are elected for a five-year term in the course of direct universal equal elections, conducted in a mixed system.

The country is divided into 27 administrative-territorial units, 24 of which are regions, 1 - an autonomous republic and 2 are cities of state subordination (Kiev, Sevastopol). In Ukraine, there are 490 districts, 459 cities, 885 urban-type settlements and 28 450 villages and other settlements.

The total area of Ukraine (according to the Constitution) is 603,628 km ² (without the Russian-controlled territory of the Crimea it is 576,604 thousand     km ²). Ukraine is located in the central part of Eastern Europe at the intersection of transport routes from Europe to Asia and from Scandinavian countries to the countries of the Mediterranean region.

In the west, Ukraine borders with Poland, Hungary and Slovakia, through territories that are the shortest path that connects Ukraine with the countries of Western and Central Europe. In the east and north of Ukraine - the border with Russia, in the south-west - with Moldova and Romania. In the north, Ukraine borders with Belarus, through which it communicates with the Baltic countries. With Romania and Russia, Ukraine has not only a land border but also a sea border.

Ukraine has a wide access to the Black and Azov Seas, which connects it with the countries of the Mediterranean basin. Also across the sea Ukraine borders on the Republic of Bulgaria, Turkey and Georgia.

The remoteness of Ukraine from the oceans, continental Eurasia and mainly the flat nature of its territory determine the climate of the country as moderately continental, gradually changing from west to east. As the continentality increases, the summer becomes hotter, and the winter is colder, and the amount of precipitation decreases.

The population of Ukraine is 44 291 413 people.

The national currency of Ukraine is UAH.

Most of the population preaches - Orthodoxy.

Ukraine is an industrial-agrarian country. Metallurgy, power engineering (there are nuclear power plants and a cascade of hydroelectric power stations on the Dnieper River) are developed, as well as chemical and mining (coal, ore).

Информация о стране

Украина – унитарное государство в Восточной Европе, с парламентско-президентской - формой правления. Столица - Киев, государственный язык - украинский.

С 21 июня 2019 года пост президента занимает Владимир Зеленский. Согласно Конституции Президент избирается сроком на пять лет тайным голосованием на всеобщих прямых равных выборах, один и тот же человек не может занимать президентский пост более двух сроков подряд.

Председателем Верховной Рады Украины является Дмитрий Разумков. Верховная Рада Украины состоит из 450 депутатов. Народные депутаты Украины избираются на пятилетний срок в ходе прямых всеобщих равных выборов, проводимых по смешанной системе.

Премьер-министр Украины - Алексей Гончарук (с 29 августа 2019 года).

Страна подразделяется на 27 административно-территориальных единиц, 24 из которых являются областями, 1 - автономной республикой и 2 представляют собой города государственного подчинения (Киев, Севастополь). На Украине насчитывается 490 районов, 459 городов, 885 посёлков городского типа и 28 450 сёл и прочих населённых пунктов.

Общая площадь Украины составляет 603628 км² (без контролируемой Россией территории Крыма она составляет 576,604 тыс. км²). Украина находится в центральной части Восточной Европы на пересечении транспортных путей из Европы в Азию и из Скандинавских стран в страны Средиземноморского региона.

На западе Украина граничит с Польшей, Венгрией и Словакией, через территории, которых проходит кратчайший путь, который связывает Украину со странами Западной и Центральной Европы. На востоке и севере Украины - граница с Россией, на юго-западе - с Молдовой и Румынией. На севере Украина граничит с Беларусью, через которую осуществляется связь со странами Балтии. С Румынией и Россией Украина имеет не только сухопутную, но и морскую границу.

Украина имеет широкий выход к Черному и Азовскому морям, который связывает ее со странами средиземноморского бассейна. Также через море Украина граничит с Республикой Болгария, Турцией и Грузией.

Удалённость Украины от океанов, континентальной Евразии и преимущественно равнинный характер её территории определяют климат страны как умеренно-континентальный, постепенно изменяющийся с запада на восток. По мере роста континентальности лето становится более жарким, а зима более холодной, и уменьшается количество осадков.

Численность населения Украины составляет 44 291 413 человек.

Национальной валютой Украины является ГРИВНА (1 гривна = 100 копеек).

Большая часть населения проповедует – православие.

Украина является индустриально-аграрной страной. Развиты металлургия, энергетика (имеются атомные электростанции и каскад гидроэлектростанций на реке Днепр), а также химическая и горнодобывающая промышленность (добыча угля, руды).