Trade and Economic Cooperation

According to the statistics of the Ministry of Economy and Commerce of the Kyrgyz Republic, in 2021 the trade turnover between the Kyrgyz Republic and the Islamic Republic of Pakistan amounted to 8.945 million US dollars, of which exports - 1.205 million US dollars, imports - 7.743 million US dollars. Compared to the same period in 2020, trade increased by 21.1%, including an increase in imports by 42.6% and a decrease in exports by 36.8%.

In particular, pharmaceutical products, clothing made from textile and knitted fabrics, food products and agricultural products (rice, tea, citrus fruits, vegetable oils), etc. are traditionally imported from Pakistan to the Kyrgyz Republic.

In turn, from Kyrgyzstan to Pakistan are exported beans, live animals and tanned leather.

Kyrgyz-Pakistani Joint Ministerial Commission on Trade and Economic Cooperation is operating to promote the development of trade and economic cooperation. The protocol on establishment of Kyrgyz-Pakistani Joint Ministerial Commission was signed in 1994. Three Joint Commission meetings were held in 2003, 2007 and 2017. Third Session of the Kyrgyz-Pakistani Joint Commission was held in Islamabad on January 11-12, 2017, co-chaired by the Minister of Economy of the Kyrgyz Republic Arzybek Kozhoshev and Federal Minister for Water and Power of Pakistan Khawaja Muhammad Asif, which led to signing of the Final Protocol of the Third Meeting of the Joint Ministerial Commission.

On October 27, 2021, in Bishkek, the Embassy, ​​in partnership with the University of Lahore and with the assistance of the Kyrgyz Union of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs, held the second Kyrgyz-Pakistani business forum “Corridors of Interconnection: Pakistan and Kyrgyzstan in the era of socio-economic integration”.

On November 30, 2021, Ambassador U. Totuiaev met with Adviser to the Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan on Trade and Investments in the rank of Federal Minister Abdul Razak Daoud

On December 7, 2021, Ambassador U.Totuiaev took part in a seminar organized by the Institute of Peace Studies and Diplomacy of Pakistan and Riphah International University on the topic “Exploring business, educational and tourism opportunities in Kyrgyzstan”.

On December 27-28, 2021 and February 18-22, 2022, the Embassy organized visits of delegations of businessmen from Pakistan to the Kyrgyz Republic in order to develop trade and economic cooperation between the Kyrgyz Republic and the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

On March 21-23, 2022 a representative of the business community of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, a former adviser to the Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan on fuel issues in the rank of Minister N. Babar, visited the Kyrgyz Republic, during which he met with the Deputy Minister of Energy and Industry of the Kyrgyz Republic T. Aitaliev, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Kyrgyz Republic A. Artykbaev , Chairman of the Board of the RKDF A. Novikov, the management of the bank "KICB" and a number of other high-ranking officials of the Kyrgyz Republic. Within the framework of the above meetings, the prospects for further cooperation in the energy, investment, trade and economic spheres were discussed, as well as guidelines for future cooperation were outlined.

In order to give a new impetus to the development of bilateral trade and economic cooperation, on March 22-25, 2022, within the framework of the visit of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Kyrgyz Republic R. Kazakbaev to the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, he met with the leadership and honorary members of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Lahore, as well as various other representatives of the business community of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, during which information was brought to the attention of the Pakistani side on the trade and investment opportunities of the Kyrgyz Republic, and also expressed readiness to provide all necessary assistance in establishing and developing economic relations between the two countries.

On March 31 - April 1, 2022 within the framework of the working trip of the Ambassador of the Kyrgyz Republic to the Islamic Republic of Pakistan U.A.Totuiaev in Bahawalpur (IRP) to participate in the annual Pakistan Mass-Wrestling Championship, he met with members of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Bahawalpur, and various businessmen of the region during which issues of cooperation between the Kyrgyz Republic and this region, especially in the field of agriculture, were raised.

On April 19-22, 2022 The Embassy of the Kyrgyz Republic in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, together with the project “Pakistan Regional Economic Integration Activity” implemented by USAID in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, successfully held the Kyrgyz-Pakistani trade and investment forum with the participation of representatives of more than 40 Kyrgyz companies, as well as more than 100 companies of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan operating in the fields of textiles, food production nutrition, agriculture, tourism, mining, energy, etc. During the event, the participants got acquainted with the activities of Kyrgyz and Pakistani business structures, exchanged contacts and outlined guidelines for further cooperation.

As a result of the forum, several agreements were signed between various subjects of the Kyrgyz Republic and the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and, in particular, the “Memorandum of Understanding and Cooperation” between the General Directorate of the Free Economic Zone “Bishkek” and the International Special Economic Zone “Pvt. LLC”, “Memorandum of Understanding” between Bai Elim Company LLC and HAC AGRI Limited for the supply of sugar products, as well as a “Memorandum of Understanding” between Bai Elim Company LLC and SixB Food Industries (Pvt) Ltd.” for the supply of natural juices, confectionery and carbonated drinks”. According to the agreements reached as a result of the above event, in early June-July this year. it is planned to open a representative office of the Free Economic Zone of the IRP in the Kyrgyz Republic.

On May 10-19, 2022 delegation of businessmen of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan visited the country, during which they organized an acquaintance with the trade and economic opportunities of the Kyrgyz Republic, as well as meetings with Kyrgyz businessmen. During this visit, representatives of the Pakistani side discussed with the travel companies of the Kyrgyz Republic the possibilities of sending groups of tourists from Pakistan to Kyrgyzstan for various types of tourism, as well as holding outreach events. Preliminarily, the first groups of tourists (approximately in the amount of 5-6 people) will be sent to the Kyrgyz Republic in June-July this year.

On May 24-25, 2022, during a working visit of the Ambassador of the Kyrgyz Republic to the Pakistan U.A.Totuiaev to Karachi, he met with the acting Governor of the Sindh province S.H. Durrani, the leadership and honorary members of the Federation of Pakistan Chambers of Commerce and Industry, as well as various representatives of the business community of Karachi. The main emphasis during this visit was placed on the promotion of transport and logistics cooperation, including through the use of the potential of the seaports of Karachi to bring the products of the Kyrgyz Republic to foreign markets.

On May 26-30, 2022 a delegation of representatives of the business circles of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, working in the fields of textiles, furniture production, construction, tourism, design, retail, etc., participating in the Trade and Investment Forum in Almaty (RK), paid a visit to the Kyrgyz Republic, where they took part in the meeting Business Council of the Eurasian Economic Forum. Also during this visit, meetings were held between representatives of Pakistan and the leadership of the Kyrgyz Republic.

Торгово-экономическое сотрудничество

Согласно статистическим данным Министерства экономики и коммерции КР, за 2021 г. товарооборот между КР и ИРП составил 8,945 млн.долл.США, из них экспорт – 1,205 млн.долл.США, импорт – 7,743 млн.долл.США. В сравнении с аналогичным периодом 2020 г. товарооборот увеличился на 21,1%, в том числе наблюдается рост импорта на 42,6% и уменьшение экспорта на 36,8%.

В частности, из ИРП в КР традиционно импортируются: фармацевтическая продукция, одежда из текстильных и трикотажных тканей, продовольственные товары и сельхозпродукция (рис, чай, цитрусовые, растительные масла) и др.

В свою очередь, экспортируются фасоль, живые животные и дубленая кожа.

В целях развития торгово-экономического сотрудничества функционирует Межправительственная кыргызско-пакистанская комиссия по торгово-экономическому сотрудничеству. Протокол о создании кыргызско-пакистанского МПК подписан в 1994 г. Всего проведено 3 заседания МПК (2003, 2007 и 2017 г.). 11-12 января 2017 г. в г. Исламабаде состоялось 3-е Заседание кыргызско-пакистанского МПК под председательством Министра экономики КР, Сопредседателя кыргызской части МПК, А. Кожошева и Федерального министра воды и энергетики ИРП, Сопредседателя пакистанской части МПК, Х.М. Асифа, по итогам которой был подписан итоговый Протокол 3-го заседания МПК.

27 октября 2021 г. в г.Бишкек Посольство в партнерстве с Лахорским университетом и при содействии Кыргызского Союза промышленников и предпринимателей провело второй кыргызско-пакистанский бизнес-форум «Коридоры взаимосвязанности: Пакистан и Кыргызстан в эпоху социально-экономической интеграции».

30 ноября 2021 г. состоялась встреча Посла У.Тотуяева с Советником Премьер-министра ИРП по торговле и инвестициям в ранге Федерального министра Абдул Разаком Даудом

7 декабря 2021 г. Посол У.Тотуяев принял участие в организованной организованной Институтом исследований в области мира и дипломатии Пакистана и Международным университетом “Riphah” семинаре на тему “Изучение бизнес, образовательных и туристических возможностей в Кыргызстане”.

27-28 декабря 2021 г. и 18-22 февраля 2022 г. Посольством были организованы визиты делегаций бизнесменов из Пакистана в КР с целью развития торгово-экономического взаимодействия между КР и ИРП.

21-23 марта т.г. состоялся визит представителя бизнес-сообщества ИРП, бывшего советника Премьер-министра ИРП по топливным вопросам в ранге Министра Н.Бабара в КР, в ходе которого он встретился с Заместителем министра энергетики и промышленности КР Т.Айталиевым, Заместителем министра иностранных дел КР А.Артыкбаевым, Председателем правления РКФР А.Новиковым, руководством банка “KICB” и рядом других высокопоставленных лиц КР. В рамках вышеуказанных встреч были обсуждены перспективы дальнейшего взаимодействия в энергетической, инвестиционной, торгово-экономической сферах, а также намечены ориентиры для будущего сотрудничества.

В целях придания нового импульса развитию двустороннего торгово-экономического взаимодействия, в рамках состоявшегося 22-25 марта т.г. визита Министра иностранных дел КР Р.Казакбаева в ИРП, были организованы его встречи с руководством и почетными членами Торгово-промышленной палаты г. Лахор (ИРП), а также различными другими представителями делового сообщества ИРП, в ходе которых до сведения пакистанской стороны была доведена информация о торгово-инвестиционных возможностях КР, а также была выражена готовность оказать все необходимое содействие в деле налаживания и развития экономических взаимосвязей между двумя странами.

31 марта – 1 апреля т.г. в рамках рабочей поездки ЧПП КР в ИРП У.А.Тотуяева в г.Бахавалпур (ИРП) для участия на ежегодном чемпионате Пакистана по масс-рестлингу, были организованы его встречи с членами Торгово-промышленной палаты г.Бахавалпур, и различными бизнесменами данного региона, в ходе которых были затронуты вопросы сотрудничества между КР и данным регионом, в особенности, в сфере сельского хозяйства.

19-22 апреля т.г. Посольством КР в ИРП совместно с реализуемым ЮСАИД в ИРП проектом “Пакистанская региональная экономическая интеграционная активность” был успешно проведен Кыргызско-Пакистанский торгово-инвестиционный форум с участием представителей более 40 кыргызских компаний, а также более 100 компаний ИРП, работающих в сферах текстиля, производства продуктов питания, сельского хозяйства, туризма, добычи полезных ископаемых, энергетики и др. В ходе мероприятия участники ознакомились с деятельностью кыргызских и пакистанских бизнес-структур, обменялись контактами и наметили ориентиры для дальнейшего сотрудничества.

По итогам форума было подписано несколько соглашений между различными субъектами КР и ИРП и, в частности, «Меморандум о взаимопонимании и сотрудничестве» между Генеральной дирекцией Свободной экономической зоны «Бишкек» и Международной особой экономической зоной «Pvt. ООО», «Меморандум о взаимопонимании» между ОсОО «Бай Элим Компани» и компанией «HAC AGRI Limited” по поставкам сахарной продукции, а также «Меморандум о взаимопонимании» между ОсОО «Бай Элим Компани» и компанией “SixB Food Industries (Pvt) Ltd.” по поставкам натуральных соков, кондитерских изделий и газированных напитков”. Согласно договоренностям, достигнутым по итогам вышеуказанного мероприятия, в начале июне-июле т.г. планируется открытие представительства Свободной экономической зоны ИРП в КР.

10-19 мая т.г. состоялся визит делегации бизнесменов ИРП, в ходе которого было организовано ознакомление с торгово-экономическими возможностями КР, а также встречи с кыргызскими бизнесменами. В ходе данного визита представители пакистанской стороны обсудили с туристическими компаниями КР возможности по направлению групп туристов из Пакистана в Кыргызстан для различных видов туризма, а также проведения выездных мероприятий. Предварительно, первые группы туристов (ориентировочно, в количестве 5-6 человек) будут направлены в КР в июне-июле т.г.

24-25 мая т.г. состоялся рабочий визит ЧПП КР в ИРП У.А.Тотуяева в г.Карачи ИРП, в рамках которого были организованы его встречи с и.о. Губернатора провинции Синд ИРП С.Х.Дуррани, руководством и почетными членами Федерации Торгово-промышленных палат Пакистана, а также различными представителями бизнес-сообщества г.Карачи. Основной акцент в ходе данного визита был сделан на продвижение транспортно-логистического взаимодействия, в том числе, путем использования потенциала морских портов г.Карачи для вывода продукции КР на внешние рынки.

26-30 мая т.г. делегация представителей деловых кругов ИРП, работающих в сферах текстиля, производства мебели, строительства,туризма, дизайна, розничной торговли и др., участвующих в Торгово-инвестиционном форуме в г.Алматы (РК), совершила визит в КР, где приняла участие в заседании Делового совета Евразийского экономического форума. Также в ходе данного визита состоялись встречи представителей ИРП с руководством КР.