Country Information

The USA is the 4th largest country in the world and the 3rd largest country in terms of population. The United States borders with Canada in the north, with Mexico in the south and has a maritime border with Russia.

The United States has a federal form of government, administratively divided into 50 states and the Federal District of Columbia. The USA also rules several island territories (Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, etc.). The capital city is Washington, DC.

The USA is a presidential republic. The United States has a two-party system, where real power has two parties which replace each other: Democratic party, founded in 1828, and Republican party, formed in 1854.

The functions of the head of the USA and Government are carried out by the President, who has full executive power and is simultaneously the commander-in-chief of the armed forces and the leader of his party. The President can be elected for 4 years (but not more than 2 terms) at the same time as the Vice-President. The current 46th president of the United States since January 20, 2021, is Joe Biden; the Vice President is Kamala Harris (Democrats).

The highest legislative body of the country is the US Congress which consists of two chambers: The Senate (100 seats) and the House of Representatives (435 seats). Speaker of the US House of Representatives - Nancy Pelosi. The Senate is headed by the Vice President of the United States Kamala Harris.

The supreme body of the judicial system is the Supreme Court of the United States, which has the powers of constitutional supervision and interpretation of laws. It consists of 9 members, appointed for life by the President and approved by the Senate.

In economic sphere, the United States is a highly developed country, the world's leading economy by nominal GDP. The country's economy accounts for about a quarter of the world's GDP and produces a third of global military spending.

Diplomatic relations between the Kyrgyz Republic and the United States were established on December 27, 1991. The United States was among the first countries to recognize the independence of Kyrgyzstan. The Embassy of Kyrgyzstan in the United States opened in 1992. In the same year the US Embassy was established in Kyrgyzstan which became one of the first foreign diplomatic missions in the Kyrgyz Republic and Central Asia.

Canada is the 2nd largest country in the world. In the south and west it borders with the USA. The capital is Ottawa. English and French are recognized as official languages on the federal level.

Canada - a federal state, consisting of ten provinces and three territories. It is a constitutional monarchy (led by the monarch of the British Commonwealth of Nations) with a parliamentary system of governance. The official representative of the British monarch in Canada is the Governor-General appointed by the monarch on the proposal of the Prime Minister. The current Governor-General of Canada Mary Simon  assumed office on July 26, 2021.

Legislature is represented by the Parliament, including the British monarch (in her absence - the Governor-General of Canada), the Senate and the House of Commons. Senators are not elected but appointed by the Governor-General. The number of members of both houses is not constant, it is revised after each population census. Currently, the Senate consists of 105 members, the House of Commons - of 338 members.

The position of the Prime Minister (head of the Cabinet) is assigned to the leader of the party that received most seats in the lower house of the Parliament - the House of Commons - in the general elections. Justin Trudeau is the Prime Minister of Canada since November 4, 2015.

Diplomatic relations between Kyrgyzstan and Canada were established on February 17, 1992. Kyrgyzstan is represented in Canada by the Embassy of the Kyrgyz Republic to the United States and Canada in Washington, DC. Canada is represented in Kyrgyzstan by the Embassy of Canada in Astana, Kazakhstan.