Information about Turkey

The Republic of Turkey - is a Turkish state in Asia Minor. It is bordered to the East by Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Iran; to the South, by Iraq and Syria; to the West - by Greece and Bulgaria. The country is surrounded by four seas: Black, Mediterranean, Aegean and Marmara.

The founder and the first President is Mustafa Kemal Atatürk.

Territory - the 36th largest country in the world, 783 563 km ². Administratively, it is divided into 81 provinces.

Time Zone - UTC + 3

Climate - The climate on the Mediterranean coast of Turkey is subtropical, with dry hot summers and warm rainy winters. The coolest weather is during the period from December to February. At this time, temperature varies from +6 to + 8 at night, and during the day from +14 to + 16. Hot weather occurs in June and lasts until September. At this time, the temperature in Turkey at night is in the range of +19 ... + 22, and +30 ... + 34 in the daytime.

The population is 80 million 810 thousand 525 people (as of 2018). The main population of the country - the Turks. More than 25 other nationalities also live in Turkey: Arabs, Greeks, Armenians, Circassians, Jews, Georgians, and Crimean Tatars.

Capital - Ankara, 6 million.

The official language is Turkish.

National day of the country - Republic Day - October 29. Proclaimed October 29, 1923.

State religion - Sunni Islam

(99% of the population is Muslim).

Monetary unit - Turkish lira. 1 US dollar = 5.8 Turkish liras.

History reference.

Modern Turkey was formed in 1923 as a result of the partition of the Ottoman Empire after its defeat in the First World War and the subsequent national liberation war of the Turkish people, the abolition of the monarchy and the transformation of the territory with the predominance of the Turkish ethnic group into the Turkish national state. Before becoming the center of the Ottoman Empire, this region throughout history has been a significant part of the ancient states: Armenia, Byzantium, Georgia (Colchis and Iberia), Persia, Rome, etc.

Government system.

Secular state with a presidential form of government.

Education System - There are currently 117 universities in Turkey, of which 91 are public and 26 are private. The total number of students receiving higher education is more than 2.7 million people, including students of correspondence departments.

Tourism - Turkey has a well-developed tourist service and infrastructure. This is due to the presence of seaside resorts, as well as a variety of attractions.

Economy - the percentage of industry in the country's economy is about 27,7%, agriculture - 6,4%,  services - 55,9, other spheres - 10%.

The textile, leather, food, chemical, pharmaceutical industries, energy, metallurgy, shipbuilding, automotive and production of electrical household goods are developed.

Tourism is considered as a dynamically developing industry.