Legalization of documents

Legalization is a confirmation that a document emanating from the authorities of the state or drawn up with the participation of these authorities corresponds to the legislation of that state. It consists in authenticating the signature of the official who signed the document and the seal of the authorized state body.

The United Arab Emirates is not a signatory to the «Hague Convention of October 5, 1961» that cancels the requirement to legalize foreign official documents. Consequently, official documents certified by an apostille are not legally binding in the UAE and are not exempted from the legalization procedure.

Scheme (procedure) of consular legalization of documents drawn up in the territory of the Kyrgyz Republic:

1. State notary office of the Kyrgyz Republic;

2. Department of notaries and advocacy of the Ministry of Justice of the Kyrgyz Republic;

3. Consular service department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Kyrgyz Republic.

4. A diplomatic mission accredited in the Kyrgyz Republic or a consular office of a foreign state in whose territory documents will be used, or a diplomatic mission of the Kyrgyz Republic (the Embassy of the Kyrgyz Republic in Abu Dhabi or the Consulate General of the Kyrgyz Republic in Dubai) accredited in a foreign country (in which documents will be used, in this case in the UAE).


The list of documents for consular legalization:

1. Request form (to be completed at the Embassy of the Kyrgyz Republic in Abu Dhabi);

2. A copy of the applicant’s civil passport and UAE visa;

3. Legalized document;

4. Consular fees.

Consular fees charged by the Kyrgyz Embassy in Abu Dhabi for consular legalization services:

Title of the document

Consular fees

(in UAE dirhams)


For the legalization of each document issued by the state bodies of the Kyrgyz Republic:

- from individuals - citizens of the Kyrgyz Republic

-from individuals - foreign citizens

-from legal entities







legalization of each document for individuals, in which citizens of the Kyrgyz Republic and a foreign state are jointly indicated: