Country Information

Uzbekistan is a country located in the central part of Central Asia, where neighboring countries are Afghanistan, Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan. The capital is Tashkent. The national currency is sum. The official language is Uzbek. The second most important is the Russian language. Religion is Islam. The date of independence was August 31, 1991. Independence Day is celebrated on September 1.

Uzbekistan is a legal democratic state. The head of state is the president. The highest state representative body is the Oliy Majlis of the Republic of Uzbekistan, which exercises legislative power. The Oliy Majlis of the Republic of Uzbekistan consists of two chambers - the Legislative Chamber (lower house) and the Senate (upper chamber). The Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Uzbekistan is the executive body of the Republic of Uzbekistan, which provides guidance for the effective functioning of the economy, social and spiritual spheres, the implementation of laws, other decisions of the Oliy Majlis, Decrees and orders of the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan.

Administrative-territorial divisions - the region (Viloyaty) and the Republic of Karakalpakstan. Areas of the Republic of Uzbekistan: Andijan, Bukhara, Jizzakh, Kashkadarya, Navoi, Namangan, Samarkand, Surkhandarya, Syrdarya, Tashkent, Fergana, Khorezm and Karakalpakstan.

Population: 34558913 people as of January 1, 2021.